Top o’ the mornin’

…or not. St. Patty’s day is the one day (besides the week of Christmas) that I do not look forward to as a commuter.

Ever since I started taking mass transit into the city back in 1997, I’ve never had a good St. Patty’s day on the train. I especially love the years when I don’t even realize what holiday it is until I get on the train and there’s a car load of loud, young kids wearing green and felt Dr. Seuss hats with green beads strung around their neck. That’s when the volume on my headphones go to MAX.

When I got on the 9:18 double-decker, I could hear the kids on the second level screaming and making noise so I decided to park myself on the first level. I probably sound like an old curmudgeonly lady who screams, “Get off my lawn!” but they don’t get how annoying it is to share space with a bunch of loud drunk high school kids first thing in the morning!

So I’m hoping to leave work tonight at the right time so that I actually miss the rowdy crowd of kids. Knowing how things go, I’ll end up on a train sitting next to someone reeking of alcohol or speaking reeeeally loudly across the aisle to their friend. But the one thing I do look forward to is that tomorrow it’s over. 🙂

One response to “Top o’ the mornin’

  1. I’m so happy not to be commuting this St. Paddy’s Day. I’m an Irish girl, but the drunken crowds on the trains are out of control!

Leave a Reply

