The many things I’ve learned this week…

Superstorm Sandy has prompted me to break my blogging hiatus. It’s been 7 days since our area was hit so I figured this was a good time to reflect on the things I’ve learned this week…

[1] DeCamp still sucks.

  • I attempted to board a 33 DeCamp bus to home on Thursday Nov 1st and I heard that they were cross-honoring our monthly NJT tickets (even the Oct ones). But when I got on, the bus driver told me they were only taking November monthlies. October just ended the DAY BEFORE so I asked him if he could give me a break, considering the circumstances. He said NO so I had to get off the bus and purchase a ticket. So I went downstairs and waited in line FOR AN HOUR just to buy one ticket because DeCamp decides to have just ONE window open. WHO does that?!?

[2] Clever Commute is still the most valuable resource for commuters out there.

  • Yesterday morning’s commute in was a nightmare. Buses were packed in like sardines and SRO. I was sandwiched in the aisle between a guy with a belly and another lady. I spooned with the guy behind me all the way into Port Authority. I definitely should have at least given him my number considering we both got more action in that hour ride than we did this whole week! Anyway, I digress. When I got to my office, there was an email from a Clever Commuter saying that he couldn’t get on a DeCamp bus so he opted to drive to the Allwood Park n Ride in Clifton. There was hardly a wait for a bus. So I tried it this morning and it was all that and more! Parking was free today   (normally $2 per day) since the ticket machines were not working, waited less than 10 mins for a bus, got a seat AND was in Port Authority in less than 40 mins! Score! Thanks again, Clever Commute!

[3] Bloomberg’s terrible attempt at Spanish and his sign language interpreter, Lydia Callis, have been the unexpected comic relief during this crazy time. 

[4] Couldn’t be prouder to be a Jersey Girl.

  • Yes, you always ask, “What exit?” when you find out someone’s from New Jersey, but as soon as they say the exit, you know EXACTLY where they’re from. AND my heart goes out to those from Exit 82/Seaside Heights, Exit 63/LBI and Exit 100/Asbury Park. Asbury Park has been “our boardwalk” since a 5k run brought us there in the summer of 2009. With it’s awesome mix of people, it’s slightly lower fee for a beach pass, the Stone Pony, the cute shops (miss you, Bodega Shoppe!) and great places to eat (Cubacan! Mogo Korean Tacos!), we’ve fallen in love. And my sister and her family moved out there last summer, so it’s become my nieces’ backyard. So, just like the many shore towns that have suffered great losses because of Sandy, I’m hoping that they’ll all rebuild. And I’m looking forward to many more beach days with you, Asbury Park!

Jersey Strong!

Image

 

 

 

One response to “The many things I’ve learned this week…

  1. From the Clever Commute guy:”thanks for the kudos”. As we say here” The commuters to all the work” 🙂

Leave a Reply

