Stuck between a rock

…and a hard place, I guess.  

Started a new commute to downtown a few weeks ago and I’m still trying to get a hang of it. My body isn’t in auto-pilot yet and worst of all, I’m not that familiar with the new train schedules. Which brings me to the hard place. 

The train schedule said that I could catch the 8:20 from HOB but I would have to transfer at SEC and wait 14 mins for a train to Bloomfield. Total travel time = 43 mins and arrive at 9:03. OR wait for the 8:58 direct train from HOB to Bloomfield. Total travel time = 24 mins and arrive at 9:22. 

I either wait at HOB or SEC. 6 and 1/2 dozen, right? I figured it would be better to get home a little earlier so I opted for the 8:20 via SEC. 

I was enjoying my commute (and even had a sec to take this elevator vid below) until I tried scanning my monthly ticket at the turnstiles. Errrr. Errrrrrrr. Errrrrrr. Nothing. Tried it again and still nothing. Luckily, Customer Service was right there. 

Went up to the window and the guy told me that I had to buy a one-way ticket to NWK because I opted for the “cheaper” ticket. (I didn’t know there was a “cheaper” option!) I felt totally deflated! My monthly ticket that I pay good money for only works if I take a DIRECT train from HOB. No transfer. No nothin. Arg. 

So on top of opting for the LONGER commute (because it got me home 19 mins earlier!) I had to shell out an extra $4.25! 

So here’s what I learned from tonight’s commute:

• Even though a ticket to HOB is cheaper than a ticket to NYP, there’s very limited service, especially after 6:30pm. 
• If you buy a ticket to HOB “via Newark”, it’s not valid for any trains “via Secaucus”

• Always opt for the direct service and shorter commute time!

Leave a Reply

